Operation Earth

Explore the fascinating world of environmental science through a fun and engaging live show and hands-on activities. Learn about the current climate change issues facing our planet and what you can do to help. Take a planetarium show and you’ll see Earth from a new perspective as you tour the Solar System and beyond!

**Visitor Information**

Although advertised as the final day of our summer holiday activities, we will now be closed on Wednesday 4 September due to works affecting the Science Centre’s power supply. Please be aware that annual maintenance will be taking place on Thursday 5 and Friday 6 September. The Science Centre will open as usual on Saturday 7 September. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Activities

  • Experience a fantastic live science show, where we'll explore the ways we can protect our planet through exciting games and demonstrations. Show times are: 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 14:30 and 15:30.
  • Get hands-on with fun activities and challenges in the Invention Studio. Build your own bee house, create a bee-friendly plant pot and explore Earth's natural wonders using a digital microscope.
  • Inspirers will be roaming the exhibition floors with themed science busking. Meet Earthy, our planet Earth costume character with its very own ice cap. Follow a fun fact trail around the centre and even don a bee costume as you collect pollen and nectar from flowers!
  • You can also explore the beautiful South Downs National park right on our doorstep whilst playing a game of Nature Bingo.

Make the most of your visit. See our Things To Do page to discover all there is to enjoy at Winchester Science Centre!

Planetarium Shows

Complete your experience with a visit to our planetarium - savings are available for those who book General Admission and planetarium tickets in the same transaction. Click here for the full programme of live, presenter-led shows and 360° fulldome films!

How to Book

Book General Admission using the relevant online booking link below. Purchase tickets at least 3 days in advance and save 25% on admission! You will also have the option to reserve your free live science show, which we recommend doing to guarantee your place.

BOOK GENERAL ADMISSION 

 

 

ANNUAL PASS HOLDER RESERVATIONS

 

 

Tuesday 20 August
10:00am
Wednesday 21 August
10:00am
Thursday 22 August
10:00am
Friday 23 August
10:00am
Saturday 24 August
10:00am
Sunday 25 August
10:00am
Monday 26 August
10:00am
Tuesday 27 August
10:00am
Wednesday 28 August
10:00am
Thursday 29 August
10:00am
Friday 30 August
10:00am
Saturday 31 August
10:00am
Sunday 01 September
10:00am
Monday 02 September
10:00am
Tuesday 03 September
10:00am
Saturday 07 September
10:00am
Sunday 08 September
10:00am
No results found