Simply Stars (autism-friendly)

Stars, constellations and planets in tonight's sky. 

A traditional planetarium show. Sit back under a simple starry sky and learn to recognise constellations, groups of stars and other objects that can be seen at this time of year, including planets when these are in the right place to see them.

The live presenter gives hints and tips for how to best learn your way around the sky, focusing on bright, easy-to-find objects visible from the average back-garden or town park.

Suitable for beginner stargazers, this show is best for ages 6yr+.  


Autism-Friendly Show

 

Our autism-friendly shows are designed to be welcoming and inviting to those with sensory sensitivities and their loved ones.

 

Sensory-friendly adjustments include:

 

  • Lights left on low
  • Sound turned down
  • Freedom to move around and sit where you like
  • Freedom to leave and re-enter the theatre

 

For further information about accessibility at Winchester Science Centre click here. You can find our social story here, which includes information about the planetarium.

 

If you have any further questions, wish to make us aware of any requirements in advance of your visit or have any feedback please email access@winchestersciencecentre.org

 

Tickets

£3.50 with General Admission or £6.60 standalone.

Tickets can be purchased online as planetarium-only or combined with a general entry ticket to the Science Centre.

Autism-Friendly Show

Wednesday 24 October
12:20pm
Thursday 25 October
12:20pm
Friday 26 October
12:20pm
Saturday 27 October
1:10pm
Sunday 28 October
1:10pm
Wednesday 31 October
12:20pm
Thursday 01 November
12:20pm
Friday 02 November
12:20pm
Saturday 03 November
1:10pm
Sunday 04 November
1:10pm
Saturday 10 November
1:50pm
Sunday 11 November
1:50pm
Saturday 17 November
1:50pm
Sunday 18 November
1:50pm
Saturday 24 November
1:50pm
Sunday 25 November
1:50pm
No results found

Advisory

Content: planets are featured only if they are visible to the naked eye around the date of the show. Sometimes there are simply none to find as their positions in their orbits mean they are only up in the daytime.

Visual warning: as with all planetarium shows, this show includes large moving images which may affect people with photosensitive epilepsy, balance disorders and/or extreme motion sickness. However, of the shows available Simply Stars has less movement, including significant periods where the view of the sky remains the same.